Eightieth Annual Kenney Research Day Program

March 15, 2013

Kenney Day represents more than the culmination of the fulfillment of the Scholarly Development (SD) requirement for all 3rd year residents. Kenney Day is a platform for residents and faculty to share some valuable and, at times, extraordinary knowledge with the hospital community. Although it is, by tradition, a 3rd years “rite of passage,” occasionally an ambitious 2nd Year resident will participate but generally 1st and 2nd years attend and imagine what they will do when their turn comes. Kenney Day is a much anticipated day, coordinated by Lynn Pereira, Coordinator in the Medical Education Department at MHRI.

FM Residents Medium Mendelsohn Medium


Kenney Day is a one half day event and there is a lively atmosphere with formal and informal poster presentations. Working with a faculty advisor, all the participating residents have an opportunity to: share a project that they hold a passion for; present an interesting clinical investigation; report on a challenging patient diagnosis in which they have encountered. During a break from formal presentations, residents stand before their poster and present their findings and address questions about their project to anyone with an inquiry. Scholarly Development Director, Dr. Roberta Goldman and Associate Residency Director, Dr. Fadya El Rayess support the residents through the SD process throughout all 3 years of residency. Presentations and posters from Family Medicine and Internal Medicine residents are evaluated by the Kenney Day judges and prizes are awarded at the end of all presentations.

Family Medicine residents were awarded several prizes. Congratulations to all participants!

This years Podium Presentation winners are (left to right):

3rd year Family Medicine residents: Mary Beth Sutter, MD, Ashley Lakin, DO, Chris Furey, MD; and 2nd year Internal Medicine Residents: Amrita Desai, MD and Michele Yamamoto, MD.

Not pictured: Poster Presentation Awards went to: Drs. Ben Bauer and Michael Levy; Amrita Desai, MD and Cortney Haynes, MD.

Awards Medium